Cold enough for a hairnet missus….memories of Caldmore

October 15, 2014 § 4 Comments


Poppleton bill copySince beginning this blog some months ago it has been my intention to produce a post about Caldmore, the place where I grew up and had a cracking childhood. My family associations with Caldmore ended with the death of my mother in November 2006 when I was fifty-nine years old. My mother was born at 226 Sandwell Street and lived the rest of her life three doors up at 220, her parents, William and Mary (Lizzy) Moseley began the Sandwell Street family connection way back in April 1915 when they married and move into their new home.

Things were much different 101 years ago, see my grandma’s bill from A. Poppletons at 29 Caldmore Road and look how much she purchased for £1 8s 1.5d (approximately £1.40p in decimal currency) in 1913. Prior to her marriage my Gran’ was Lizzy Fellows who lived in Hospital Street with her parents and nine siblings, she worked in Caldmore at The Summit buckle works in New Street, opposite Dandy’s Walk.

The Caldmore Green my grandparents knew in 1915.

The Caldmore Green my grandparents knew in 1915.

In 1915 my Gran’ was new to living in Caldmore but my Grandfather probably knew “cracks in the pavement” as had lived there since his birth at 16 Caldmore Road in 1882, see my earlier post titled Moseley family of Caldmore Road to learn more about them. The picture of Caldmore Green, focusing on the White Hart, is dated 1915, so this is the Caldmore of my newly wed grandparents. The buildings in the distance, above the chap in the pony and trap on the far right is where Poppleton’s shop used to be. The other cart shown is for the ‘oss drawn carriers of T. Harris. Unusually there is a “copper” in the picture with the not so unusual group of inquisitive kids. Another store popular to the newly weds was that of Arthur Overton whose West End Cash Supply Stores stood on the corner of Sandwell and Newhall streets, his delivery lad, “our Granville” poses proudly with his bike!Overton West End Stores

I cannot recall Overtons store from when I was a lad in the 1950s but I can remember the row of buildings along Sandwell Street, I think one shop housed a cobbler where my dad used to take his shoes to be mended. The whole of the area around Newhall and Orlando streets was demolished in the early 1960s to make way for the high-rise flats and semi-detached housing. Newhall Street prior to this redevelopment was very narrow with old, high buildings on either side which made for a very gloomy stroll down the hill into the top end of Caldmore Road. Upon completion of the redevelopment I seem to recall people in the area being very happy with their new surroundings, almost thinking they had entered a brave new world….but that didn’t last long! Certainly Newhall Street was a much better street to walk down as the new houses had front gardens and the houses didn’t come directly onto the road as the old buildings did. A friend of mine lived in one of the maisonettes on Bath Street and although the living conditions had improve dramatically the language and demeanour of some of their neighbours hadn’t!

Bath St 1974

(Express & Star)

The picture here is from the 1974 and is taken at the bottom of Newhall Street which is on the left, Bath Street is straight ahead and Little Caldmore is off to the right. Fading into the distance along Bath St/Road is the factory of Matthew Harvey Limited, legend has it this is one of the places my Great Uncle collected bets before betting shops were even thought of. On the opposite corner to where this picture was taken one of the first betting shops in the area opened in the early 1960s, Bert Taylor, if I remember, correctly was the bookie.

My great Aunt Sal’ and great Uncle Frank lived at 2 Little Caldmore, running the tobacconists and stationers started by my great Grandma’, Emma Moseley around the mid 1880s. It was on one of my visits to their shop as a lad that I saw my first ever grey squirrel running alongside the building in the picture. In my excitement I rushed into the shop to tell of my discovery and great Uncle Frank said “Christ almighty, squirrels in Caldmore…..who’da thought it cocka! He wo’ get far though, some bugger l’ll have him in a pie before taytime.” 

I have been reminded that I have missed out another well-known shop in Little Caldmore that of Nellie and Bob Aston’s shop opposite uncle Franks. They sold “suck” through to darning cotton and just about everything else in between. When my Mom was running Frank’s shop she used to send me over to Bobs to see if they could help out with change, of course I always came away with something for my trouble, liquorice or similiar. Close to the Astons shop lived the Anderson family whose son Gary, along with Rob Bradley, Dave Hulse and myself used to hang out together. Dave and I used to have bike races from Little Caldmore down to the Green and round to the Crown & Anchor on summer nights, your race was lost however if a car was coming up Corporation Street as waiting for it to pass was race over. Another street that was useful for bike racing was Vicarage Street which became known as Caldmore Road in 1936, but everyone I ever knew just called it the Vicarage. Bit more traffic, even in those days, so you had to be especially diligent coming down the hill……..and bloody quick on the brakes!

Vicarage Street c.1913, now known as Caldmore Road.

Vicarage Street c.1913, now known as Caldmore Road.

Another personal recollection of mine that is indelibly planted in my brain happened right at the bottom of Newhall Street in July 1962. My Dad bought me a new bike, it was second-hand but that didn’t matter, it was a Viking Ian Steel model, all shiny in a brilliant electric blue finish, derailleur gears, centre-pull brakes……….and there the problem lay! I had the unfortunate experience of finding my great-uncle Frank dead on his bed one Sunday when I took his dinner round, as I did every week. I couldn’t get in but I could see him lying on the bed through a chink in the curtains, I shot back home to tell Mom and Dad. The police were called and eventually broke in, Dad was already there, I was on my way via Sandwell and Newhall streets and it was coming down the latter street I had my accident. My previous bike had the brakes the opposite way round to my new one so when I applied what I thought was my back brake it was in actual fact the front brake. To apply the front brake when travelling at a considerable rate of knots downhill is not advisable unless you are determined to go through life with a badly broken nose. My new machine stopped most efficiently, its back wheel flying of the ground and propelling me forward over the handlebars ……….. fortunately my one knee slamming into the hard road surface broke my fall! No breaks but plenty of scraiges all over (a scraige to none Walsallians is a graze!). That hot Sunday in July just wasn’t my day and neither sadly, Frank Richardsons.

Calendar page copyIt was in the little shop at 2 Little Caldmore that I first heard of the plane crash that took the lives of so many of the Manchester United team on 6th February 1958. My great-uncle was in hospital and my Mom was running the shop, at the end of the school day I had to make my way from Whitehall Juniors up to the shop. That day I am sure there was thick snow in Walsall so my journey was delayed as the opportunity to throw snowballs every inch of the way wasn’t missed. On arriving at the shop my Mom told me the bad news, unlike today, everyone loved Man U, I think, so it was a real blow. The day wasn’t suppose to end sadly like this, the previous week me and my Dad had popped over the road to Sid Grainger’s Model Shop on the corner of Mount Street and Caldmore Road to order a huge Revell plastic model of the US aircraft carrier, USS Forrestal and this was the day we were due to pick it up! To remind readers of the shop I have include a picture from a page in my 2003 Walsall Lives calendar which shows the shop in the early 1960s, the smaller one shows the premises in the 1930s when it was the home of Caldmore Footwear.  Also on display are a couple of 72nd scale Airfix plastic model kits that used to retail for around two bob (10 pence in today’s money), in the bottom left corner is a Triang Laundry Set, typical of the toys that could be bought from just down the road from Graingers at another childrens landmark in Caldmore Road, the Happy Anniversary. The next picture is of the owners of the Happy Anniversary, Mr and Mrs Turner with their assistant Nan Torkington, it was Nan who allowed me to use this picture in my calendar in 2011. The shop not only sold toys but also cards for all occasions, dolls, sweets, stationery, trinkets, ornaments and come the autumn, fireworks. It was a fact, living in Caldmore in those days we only went into Walsall town centre for a change of scenery not necessity.

Happy Anniversary

Caldmore Road 1917

Caldmore Road circa 1917. The Happy Anniversary was in between the two shops with their blinds pulled out. On the left, past the shops is the parapet and high wall of the old Caldmore School on the corner of St. Michael’s Street, previously Stratford Street.

Continuing down Caldmore Road, back to the Green, in the 1950s/60s I can remember Breedons Electricals where we had our first tele’ from in 1957, that shop was just a bit further down, past the far shop with the blind down in the picture above. Past Carless Street were some shops and one I am sure housed a cake shop and another was the bike shop of Benny Parkes, I think that was his name, which always had a strong smell of rubber about it. Somewhere around here was the grocers shop of Pearks although I can’t recall exactly where. Rounding the corner, opposite the Green itself was Lycetts shop who sold watches and jewellery and next door was the Bakers Inn, and then J. E. Dolmans the corn and seed merchants. The Caldmore branch was managed by the formidable Elsie Evans, a lady who did not suffer fools or little lads gladly. In 2002 I featured J. E. Dolmans Ltd. in my Walsall Lives calendar and the October page from that year is shown below. Note the vignette in the top left of young Elsie Evans, I can hear her now……“am yo’ kids gunna’ buy anythin’, if not bugger off”……and she meant it! My Grandma’ used Dolmans to buy the feed for her chickens and knew Elsie well, one cold morning in winter my Gran’ walked in and commented to Elsie how nippy it was, Elsie replied in her deep gruff voice “are, it’s cold enough for a hairnet missus!”

October page

The premises of J .E. Dolman Ltd,. with the Bakers Inn next to the gulley that ran round to Careless Street.

The premises of J .E. Dolman Ltd,. with the Bakers Inn next to the gulley that ran round to Careless Street.

Caldmore Green 1926

This picture is from a postcard that was sent to an address in Worcester in 1926. On the right is the Picture Playhouse, known in later years as The Forum Cinema just 11 years after it first opened in 1915.

Although the picture above was taken at least 20 years before I was born the scene typifies Caldmore as I remember it in the 1950s. On extreme right of the picture is Rogers shop on the corner, the sign says sweets and cigarettes, teas and ?, and refreshments, I certainly used the shop as a lad but I cannot recall the name of the owner back then. There was a business run by a Jimmy Rogers who I think was a signwriter and picture framer, his shop was around the corner in West Bromwich Street, close to the Conservative Club. The Forum Cinema was where I saw my first film around 1954, my mother, accompanied by my aunt and cousin, took us to see Mandy, the story of a deaf and dumb girl that was a real tear jerker……..I think several people in the audience suffered dehydration from the amount of tears they shed! The film starred a very young Mandy Miller (remember Nellie The Elephant song?), Jack Hawkins and Phyllis Calvert, it told the story of a little girls struggle to overcome her handicap. The film that registered in my mind though came along about three-years later, it was called Hell Drivers and starred Stanley Baker, Patrick McGoohan, Herbert Lom and Sean Connery. Seeing a repeat of the film a few years ago I realised the really fast driving scenes in it that enthralled me years ago were in actual fact nothing of the sort, to make the lorries go faster they just speeded the film up……….a bit too much too! Mom, an avid cinema goer, also took me to see a French film, Le Ballon Rouge (The Red Balloon) and I think this was at The Forum. This charming film was about a small boy and a balloon that follows him around the back streets of Paris, he looses the balloon to some rough kids and then, not unsurprisingly, got it back again, this film was re-released on DVD in 2009. The Forum closed in 1960 and the rear of it became a paper warehouse for another fine company in the town now gone, the Walsall Lithographic.

The row of shops in the background of the picture shows A. J. Thompson, butcher, with the blinds down, the shop with the baths and buckets hanging was that of Mrs A. Mander, ironmongers, followed by the haberdashers of E. A. Boys. In later years I recall the greengrocers of Bedworths, everyone I knew called it Bedduths, which was near to where Thompsons was. I am sure they used to hang oil lamps outside in winter like they did on market stalls, I continue to love that smell today and if I catch a whiff of something similar I always think of Bedduths! Past Bedworths was Marsdens a shop similiar to the Happy Anniversary if I remember correctly. Out of view on the picture and the other side of E. A. Boys was Shelley’s Chemist a well-known name in Caldmore and Palfrey along with that of Thatchers, who also had chemist shops in Walsall.

Coming round to the White Hart who remembers subterranean toilets opposite and the enamel signage that used to greet male users, an example of which is shown………..you can always rely on me to lower the tone! Hopefully no one will be offended by this inclusion!

Urinal sign

Corporation St and church

Left, Corporation Street c.1910 with the Trinity Methodist Church (1899-1957) in the centre of the picture. Right, the Church in a picture taken from Rutter Street and reproduced in the Walsall Red Book for 1912. (Walsall Local History Centre).

Have re-surfaced and turned left out of the toilets the view you had was similar to this 1910 picture down Corporation Street. The building on the extreme left, B. Brewster the grocers, was later run by a friend of my grandfathers, another grocer name Billy Craig. My mother as a young girl used to visit the shop with her dad and one day noticed Billy eating maggots off some less than fresh bacon. Mom, taking Billy to task he replied, “they wo’ hurt ya’ ma’ wench, they’m only full o’ bacon”.

The three Billies, butcher Billy Miller with his usual large cigar, my granddad Billy Moseley and grocer Billy Craig.

The three Billies, butcher Billy Miller with his usual large cigar, my granddad Billy Moseley and grocer Billy Craig.

The three Billies are seen in this picture below on one of their “Breakfast Trips” to Ironbridge or Bridgnorth in the 1940s.  Billy Miller was a larger than life character who ran the butchers and greengrocers almost opposite the Crown & Anchor in West Bromwich Street.

The Trinity Methodist Church shown above was built around 1877, it was designed in a Gothic style by the Walsall architect Samuel Loxton  and built in red brick with Hollington stone dressings. In 1894 the thin slender spire was blown down in a gale but later re-built. In 1953 the Church amalgamated with Victor Street Methodist Church to become Caldmore Methodist Church. The lovely old church was demolished and a new one was built on the same site in 1958.

Rutter Street off-licence c.1960.

Rutter Street Off-Licence c.1960.

Back in the 50s, if the sermon dried your throat and you fancied wetting your whistle with a Vimto, one could pop into any number of Off-Licences dotted around the town, like the one shown in Rutter Street, a stones throw from the Church.

Heading back up to Caldmore Green, opposite the Green itself was Caldmore Liberal Club and Stantons Fishmongers run by Frank Pomlett. Frank, who lived in a house on the corner of Bath Road and Little London, was my gran’ and granddads chosen fishmonger although a fair bit of business also went to the other fishmon’, Naylors.

Having published the post and confessing that I didn’t know when or why the picture below was taken several people contacted me through Caldmore Past & Present to tell me that it was The Queens visit to Walsall in her Silver Jubliee year of 1977. Now we know what the three blokes were looking at in the Liberal Club window so thanks for that.

A Polaroid picture from the Queens visit to Walsall in her Silver Jubliee year in 1977.

 

Two pubs

Courtesy of Walsall Local History Centre.

Looking back towards Corporation Street this picture below shows the Royal Oak that used to be on the corner of Spout Lane and West Bromwich Street, on the opposite corner was the Old King’s Arms public house seen in the other picture.

 

 

 

While researching this post I referred to the excellent website of Tony Hitchmough – longpull.co.uk that includes details of all Walsall pubs past and present and came across an interesting item. In March 1882 an inquest was held at the Old King’s Arms concerning the death of 44 year-old Charles Lakin, a carter who lived in Spout Lane who fell downstairs and subsequently died from his injuries. A copy of the newspaper report is shown below. Being interested family history many names ring bells but this one rang louder than most, I knew that name. Sure enough, checking my wife’s family tree I came across a Charles Lakin who turned out to be the great-grandfather of our sister-in-law.

Inquest report 1882

Little London 1961

Little London on a wet day in 1961, note the planning permission notices stuck on the wall of each house telling of the pending demolition of the properties. The wall on the left of the picture is the one that surrounds the White Lion’s premises. (Express & Star)

Sadly I have no pictures for West Bromwich Street but many names I can remember. I recall trying to place my first ever bet, under age I may add, in the betting shop that opened on the corner of Thorpe Road in the early 1960s. The horse was called Blue Acre and I decided to invest the princely sum of sixpence each way on this fine piece of horse-flesh, unfortunately my spelling back then wasn’t quite as good as it is now. On the slip I wrote, “6d EW Blue Arce Total Stake 1/-“, the bookie took one look at the bet and started laughing adding, “now bugger off before I tell ya’ Dad what you’ve been up to when I see him in the Lion (The White Lion) tonight…….and what’s more I’ll tell him you can’t spell either!” Talk about going home with your tail between your legs!

The penultimate picture shows a very familiar view to me, Little London before the flats were built. Some years after this picture was taken the houses shown, along with those all down West Bromwich Street to where the British Legion Club used to stand on the corner were demolished. The only thing that remained on that side of the street was the Caldmore Gospel Hall. After redevelopment the hall was eventually surrounded by two blocks of high-rise flats, a block of garages and a doctor’s surgery. On the opposite side of West Bromwich Street the houses at the bottom were also demolished, these included Dunphy’s Post Office and grocery shop.

So many things have changed around the town now but the names from years ago still remain entrenched, Heydons the grocers, Archie Boot and his papers, Mrs Russell’s paper shop by the bus stop in West Bromwich Street, Spooner’s fish and chip shop, Fereday’s bike shop, Seller’s the butchers,  the Post Office run by Mr and Mrs Slim, Miss Moseley’s dolls hospital, Ault’s Timber Yard, Robinson’s cake shop, Newman’s grocery shop and a few hundred others too!

I thought to round off this post a final view of Caldmore Green in 1981 and a 1901 OS map of the area would fit the bill.

Caldmore Green or what's left of it in 1981.

Caldmore Green or what’s left of it in 1981. (Express & Star)

Ordnance Survey 1901

Ordnance Survey 1901

our-yard-2006

Just for you Julie, “our houses!” Taken in December 2006 shortly before it was given up after my mother’s death. Sorry “our” conifers obscure the view of 222, home of your Aunt Dora and Uncle Lew.

With thanks to:-

Walsall Local History Centre

Hitchmoughs Black Country Pubs – longpull.co.uk

Express & Star

Ordnance Survey

Mrs Torkington

§ 4 Responses to Cold enough for a hairnet missus….memories of Caldmore

  • Julie says:

    Mrs Moseley was a very kind neighbour of my aunt and uncle, Dora and Lewis Johnson, who lived at 222 Sandwell Street from wartime until they died in the 1970s. My mother’s whole family (seven) lived at number 222 until they married and moved away.Most of the family worked at Harveys. I remember my grandfather, Fred Johnson, used to keep rabbits in a hutch in the back garden. Mom always regarded the place as ‘home’, and went back weekly to visit, and to pick up knitting wool from Mrs Astins by the bus stop.

    My parents (my dad was from Carless St) did their postwar courting in the Bakers Arms on Caldmore Green, and I was christened in St Michael’s. I have since heard that they have made a museum out of a house in Carless Street, and I wonder what number it was. My dad, uncle and I were all born at number 8.

    • Hello Julie,
      Thanks for getting in touch and the kind comments about my grandma’, Mrs Moseley, who was indeed kind to a great many people in the area.

      I remember very well Dora, Lewis and, as we called him, “old” Mr Johnson, is that your grandfather Fred? Lewis and old Mr J, along with Ernie Lockley and Jack Clayton, used to come to our house to see the FA Cup Final every year as we had a tiny little telly in the 1950s, my mom used to lay on cakes, biscuits, sandwiches etc and gallons of tea with dad getting in “something a bit stronger”, we all had a great time. I lived at 220 Sandwell Street until 1972 when I married, my mom remained at that address until 10 years ago when she died so I was still going to 220 until 2006, my mom and dad were Hilda and Wal’ Griffiths. It’s not the street we knew now though!!

      I can remember a well dressed lady who used to come to see Dora and Lewis with a couple of daughters (I think?) and they may have lived down the Delves somewhere, I think the lady may have been a sister to them both. The others I remember were Lynn, Susan and Diane Griffiths who were daughters of a Mr and Mrs Griffiths who lived at the top of Vincent Street, this Griffiths family were not related to us by the way. The mom of the three girls, again I think, was Dora and Lewis’s sister and am sure she was married to a man known as “Ollie Griffiths”. Lynn Griffiths was always at her Aunt Dora’s house and I used to play with her in “old” Mr Johnson’s shed and the allotments running at the back of our gardens. I had forgotten all about Mrs Astins wool shop, mom was always in there, so thanks for that memory. My mom and dad were married at St. Michaels and I too was christened there, in fact when we were clearing mom’s house out I found the gown I was christened in in 1947 and I am not ashamed to say I still have it. In the late 1960s and early 70s Lewis used to have a great vegetable garden with what seemed like tons of runner beans, carrots, parsnips spuds etc every year, all shared out to the inhabitants of “the yard”. This maybe my memory getting confused but I am sure Lewis had an allotment somewhere down West Bromwich Street prior to growing everything in his own garden.

      My gran’ and grandad Moseley moved into 226 Sandwell Street in 1915 and had my mom Hilda in 1920. My mom would have remembered all of the Johnson “clan” then? When mom and dad married in 1944 they moved into 220 around 1946. As I recall Mr and Mrs Lewis lived at 218, then us (and before us Cassidys) at 220, the Johnsons at 222, Mr and Mrs Lockley and daughter Mary at 224, gran and grandad at 226 and the Claytons at 228. Today we talk of community spirit but it is nothing like what we had in those little houses, that was real community, pricless!

      I haven’t heard about a museum in Carless St, I’ll have to look into that.

      Great to have this “chat” and thank you for getting in touch, great memories.

      Regards, John Griffiths.

  • Julie Wilkes says:

    Of course, Dora, Lew and our grandad Fred knew your family very well. My sister has just corrected me: Auntie Dora died at Sandwell St on St Patricks day 1988. Uncle Lew lived alone there till 1990 and our mom Mavis would travel regularly up from the Delves with his shopping. It’s great that you remember our cousins Di Sue and Lynne. We used to visit them at the top of Vincent St in the days when they still used a black leaded range and the gas lights still lit the street. Lynne eventually took up residence at 222 as a teenager, respite from Uncle Ollie I think! Dora was a lovely aunty to all the kids. There is so much I remember about that house in Sandwell Street, from the toasting fork by the open hearth to the real feather beds. And the outside privy! My sisters Tina Sandra and I all went to Whitehall Junior in the days of Mr Lester (who was very fond of the tawse).

    Sandra says what about Mr and Mrs Siddens on the other side of Dora and Lew? With the collie dog called Gin?

    Your photos of Caldmore Green are so evocative. I remember the sign in the toilets, the tin baths on the pavement outside the ironmonger. And on the wall on the left inside the greengrocers there was a large painting depicting a smiling black man with a huge knife for gathering bananas. It terrified me!

    I must go on a pilgrimage to Caldmore again before too long. Thanks for prompting me.

    • Hello Julie,
      Great to hear from you again…….all the names are coming back to me too!

      So your mom is Mavis, I remember her well, she is the one I referred to the other day as being the well dressed lady from the Delves, that’s how I always recall her.

      Since your first reply I have been doing at bit of “digging” which has allowed me to recall names. I went onto Find My Past and found the Johnson family on the 1939 Register and they were living then at 66a West Bromwich Road in that year. On the list was Fred, Lew, Dora, Edna, Ellis and your mom Mavis. Edna was Di’, Sue and Lynne’s mom wasn’t she? I remember Lynne coming to live next door to us with Dora and Lew. I think she used to go up the White Lion with my dad for a pint along with her friend named Joan if my memory serves me correct. A lot of people used to think Lynne was our relative due to having the same surname….sometimes when I was much younger, I used to play tricks on people when they mentioned it and make out we were…….think it was because I always wanted a brother or sister, never got one though! Not sure if you have seen the post about Whitehall School but on that post is a large picture of the nativity play and on that you can see Dianne, she is on the second row from the back seven girls in from the left side, just behind the girl playing Mary. I am on the third row peering between an unknown lad and Stewart Ormonde. Funny you should say about Mr Lester being tawse happy, that’s just how I remember him and many others who have contacted me, we can’t all be wrong can we?

      Your sister Sandra is spot on about Mr and Mrs Siddons at 224, I am still in touch with their children, John and Sheila who both live down the Delves now, next door to each other in fact. Shelia and her husband, Horace used to live on the other side to us at 218 with their son Gary, still in touch with him too. Lizzie and Clarence Siddons didn’t move into 224 until around 1968 up until then the Lockleys lived their, Ernie died in 1966 and Mrs Lockley, Edith died in 1968. The Siddons had to move as their house on West Bromwich Street was to be demolished, they lived about 3 doors up from Dunphys Post Office on the corner of Windsor Street.

      Glad you like the pics of Caldmore, just wish I had more……..I also remember the black man with the knife and bananas!

      I live just outside Hednesford now and still go to Walsall regularly as my mother-in-law lives in Leamore. Some Saturdays I go for a drive up Sandwell Street and surrounding streets, nearly all the houses around “our patch” seem to be up for let and they don’t half look scruffy. Do you still live around Walsall or did you “escape”. If you do go on a “pilgrimage” be careful, it ain’t the Caldmore we knew sadly.

      Like you I only have great memories of those little houses where I grew up and your Aunty Dora, Uncle Lew and Mr Johnson were just three that made it so good, real salt of the earth the people in the yard and I never recall anyone having a crossed word or falling out.

      Look at the “Cold Enough for a Hairnet” post again and right at the very end of the post I have put a picture of “our houses” for you as a thank you for contacting me, with apologies as our conifers obscure the view a bit, hope you enjoy it. If my mom had seen all of the leaves and litter on that photo’ I wouldn’t half have copt it!
      Regards and best wishes, John G.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cold enough for a hairnet missus….memories of Caldmore at Walsall Life.

meta

