Chuckery Senior School 1904-1972

February 17, 2015 § 33 Comments


In memory of Bill Jeynes our metalwork teacher who died on 10th October 2016 aged 89. Thanks Bill, it was a pleasure knowing such a nice and talented bloke.

Another member of staff to have died in recent times was Michael Davies, Deputy Head during Miss Prentice’s reign. Mr. Davies died at his home in Codsall on Saturday 10th October 2015 aged 85. Michael had died exactly one year earlier to the day than his colleague Bill Jeynes. 

 Although Chuckery Primary School is still going strong Chuckery Senior School, opened in 1904, has long since gone,  the site the school once occupied has been a housing estate for the last fourteen or fifteen years. In 1972 when Chuckery Senior School closed the premises were taken over by arch rivals, Blue Coat School and later the nomad of Walsall’s education system, the School of Art, took over the premises for several years. By 1999 plans were already under way to demolish and develop the site. In February 2000 I arrived at my old school with the intention of taking photographs of the doomed premises only to find it had virtually gone. The majority of the buildings had been demolished and a huge brick pile stood where the classroom used for domestic science (that’s what it was called in my day) stood. Speaking to one of the workmen he told me the bricks were destined for the crusher that made aggregate for road building etc, after hearing that I knew they had it in for the old place!

A view of the Senior school in 1950. The church building in the right foreground is not part of the school.

A view of the Senior school in 1950 from britainfromabove.org.uk website.

I wandered around the decimated site trying to photograph something…… anything would do! To make matters worse it was a typical winter day, cold, very overcast with appalling light; with the demolition almost complete this was no time to get artistic, click the bloody shutter and go! Maybe I should have got a bit artistic because when the film was developed many of the pictures were so under exposed you couldn’t see them, only a few were of sufficient quality to reproduce and two of them can be seen later in the post.

When it was announced in the now defunct Walsall Observer that the school was to close an appeal came from the then headmaster, Donald Bolton, for ex-pupils to get in touch as he planned to produce a commemorative booklet containing the history of the school. Some say you should never volunteer for anything but I did, I went to see Mr. Bolton and offered to put the publication together for him and get it printed. He sure enough took me up on my offer and he set about the task off finding the necessary  material. One of the problems Mr. Bolton had, were the school records, there weren’t any; in November 1946 someone broke into the school and set fire to it. Fortunately the fire was spotted before it had time to fully take hold but not before the headmaster’s office which contained the school records from 1904 onwards was completely gutted. In consequence of this the historical content of the book is somewhat lacking. The end product was an A4 landscape, twenty page single colour booklet with four page two-colour covers, the pages, in spreads format, are shown below. Inevitably I didn’t get a copy of the final booklet and the images shown are taken from my proof as can be seen by some red biro markings. (Click on each image and it will enlarge)

ªÃ◊ÑHeads and staffEarly days spreadChrono' & drama spreadPatriotic & chronoSporting spreadSports & DukesPrizes & chronoChrono & road safetyMisc & stalwartsThe picture of the lectern with the three boys, Geoffrey Burden kneeling, John Warren and Michael Shaw and headmaster Mr. Perry appeared in the Walsall Observer on the 18th February 1955. A bible was presented to the school but was found too heavy for the reader to hold for long periods and so the idea of building lectern came about. It took three months to build and it was said every pupil in the school had contributed to the work. It was made from oak polished to its natural colour and stood five feet high (1.8m).

I do recall it being a very smart piece of woodwork as I stood on it many times to read the weekly Prefect’s Report to the school on Wednesday mornings. This weekly routine was always fraught with danger if it was your turn to do the reading. At least one, probably more of your so-called “pals” would stand at the back of assembly pulling daft faces at you. The trick was don’t look up, keep your head down at all times because if you caught one of the perpetrators  eyes it was definitely game over.

Drawing complete

The panoramic drawing of the school by art teacher Mr. D. G. Woolley, A.T.D., that was printed on the reverse of the front and back covers of the booklet.

The booklet was given to every pupil in the school at the end of the final term in July 1972. The final page (not shown above) contained the following message:- On Thursday 27th July, 1972, the school building will become the property of Blue Coat Secondary School. At the beginning of the new term, Mr. J. C. Sturrock, M.C.B.A., headmaster of Blue Coat will welcome one hundred and twenty-three pupils from Chuckery to his school, a further two hundred and sixty-seven pupils will be transferred to Joseph Leckie Secondary School under the headship of Mr. A. G. Williams, B.A.

Pebbler WebsterBRAVO OLD CHUCK!                                                 The one big surprise for me when putting the publication together was the omission of any mention of the schools most famous pupil, Sidney Norman (Pebbler) Webster who won the 1927 Schneider Trophy air race in Venice. He retired from the RAF in 1950 with the rank of an Air-Vice Marshall.

Webster was born in Walsall in March 1900 and lived in Borneo Street. He first went to Butts Infant and Junior Schools before going on to Chuckery Seniors. Always a sporty lad, he excelled at both football and cricket, playing for Walsall Schoolboys team in 1913-14. In the picture below he is the smaller boy standing on the back row, second in from the right.Walsall Boys1913-14

Webster tribute front

The supplement from the newspaper produced to commemorate Webster’s unique achievement.

 

 

 

 

Some years ago I sent two photographs off to the Black Country Bugle of the Chuckery cricket team and of the prefects from my final year in 1962 which are both shown a little later. The article was published in The Bugle and very little response was forthcoming but I did receive an email from an ex-pupil who attended the school in the 1930s and now lived in Canada. His recollections of the school:-

MY CHUCKERY MEMORIES – From Stan Horton

I am an ex-Chuckery School pupil from way back. I attended the brand new junior department when it first opened years at Tantarra Street School.
My recollections include my teachers – Miss Phillips, Miss Cartwright, Mr Canon and Mr Arnold, who was not my teacher but had a reputation for bending boys over between the front desks and whacking them on the backside with one of those large school rulers, (about 36” by 4”)
Because I was considered to be a ‘BIG’ kid in those days, I was nominated to distribute the FREE milk to all the classes in the new part of the school. I cannot remember having anything to do with the empties, but I do remember humping the full ones with about a third of a pint in each bottle and one bottle for each child in each classroom.
I then became old enough (eleven years) to attend the senior department in the old part of the school. I recall the names of some of the teachers.  There was Mr (Bobby) Ash taught art – Mr Tom Perry taught science – Mr Lamb taught geography and P.E., Mr Riggs, for whom I fetched a packet of ten Walters brand cigarettes from Darby’s shop at the top of Lime Street every school day, taught maths and Mr Hodgkins taught English. Mr Humphries was the Headmaster who owned a Hillman saloon car whose registration number was CDH 54.
We walked to the Tower Street Public Baths every Wednesday morning, where we learned to swim and completed life saving courses. (I still have my certificates!)
I remember Chuckery School putting on a gymnastic show at the Town Hall with Mr. Lamb in charge. It was a good show and I remember lots of applause.
I also remember going to night school there.
Pupils I remember are Stan Rigby, Billy Cummings, Sidney Doyle, Maurice Butler, Nobby Clark, Geoffrey Bricknel, Margaret Eccles, Olive Edwards, Margaret Bird, Barbara Bache, Geoffrey Newell,  Billy Horsely, Frank Roberts, Tommy Egan, Bill Goode, Ray Simmons, Billy Plant are just some of the names which come readily to mind.
I will try to come up with more if you think it will be helpful to your task.
During my school years I lived at 44 Lime Street, Chuckery.

The Prefects 1961-62:- Back row, l-r, Colin O'Neill, yours truly, Vic Manley, Graham Worrall, Keith Turton, Graham Crook, Ken Tittley, Ken (or was it it Mick?) Robinson, David Clifft and Ron Smith. Seated, l-r, Maureen Ballinger, Diane Fellows, Joan Middleton, Maureen Harvey, Elaine Bond, Miss Prentice (Headmistress) Mr. Davies (Deputy Head), Susan Brittle, Margaret Ballinger, Dorothy Whitehouse, Margaret Phillips and Margaret Lester. Where did all this lot go? Haven't seen any of them in the 53 years since leaving!

The Prefects 1961-62:- Back row, l-r, Colin O’Neill, yours truly, Vic Manley, Graham Worrall, Keith Turton, Graham Crook, Ken Tittley, Ken (or was it it Mick?) Robinson, David Clifft and Ron Smith. Seated, l-r, Maureen Ballinger, Diane Fellows, Joan Middleton, Maureen Harvey, Elaine Bond, Miss Prentice (Headmistress) Mr. Davies (Deputy Head), Susan Brittle, Margaret Ballinger, Dorothy Whitehouse, Margaret Phillips and Margaret Lester. Where did all this lot go? Haven’t seen any of them in the 53 years since leaving!

Cricket team in 1962. Back row, l-r, Mr. Davies, John Beeley, John Tuck, Graham Worrall, Ron Smith and Mr. Dawson. Seated, l-r, David Clifft, Keith Turton, John Allen, Ken Tittley, Mike Smith, Vic Manley and Robert Bradley. Only the stars of the show were allowed on these photographs, the humble scorer (me) was deemed unfit to be shown to the public!

Cricket team in 1962. Back row, l-r, Mr. Davies, John Beeley, John Tuck, Graham Worrall, Ron Smith and Mr. Dawson. Seated, l-r, David Clifft, Keith Turton, John Allen, Ken Tittley, Mike Smith, Vic Manley and Robert Bradley. Only the stars of the show were allowed on these photographs, the humble scorer (me) was deemed unfit to be shown to the public!

In May 1972 I took a series of black and white photographs around the school for use in the booklet being produced, some of them are shown below.

Left, the entrance on Tong Street to the boys school. The picture on the right shows the view in the opposite direction towards Lincoln Road. The building in the near left foreground was the classroom for Domestci Science.

Left, the entrance on Tong Street to the boys school before being a mixed school. The picture on the right shows the view in the opposite direction towards Lincoln Road. The building in the near left foreground was the classroom for Domestic Science.

Left, Mr. Bolton's office and on the right the staff room in the boys side of the school.

Left, Mr. Bolton’s office and on the right the staff room in the boys side of the school before it was mixed.

The entrance to the "new" block built in the late 1950s that housed the science and art departments.

The first picture shows the entrance to the science and art block and the other picture shows the interior of the science room. This “new” block was built in the late 1950s.

The hall complete with "joanna' and on the right the view into the playground from the Chuckery Road entrance. The buildings on the right housed the classrooms for woodwork and metalwork.

The hall complete with “joanna’ and on the right the view into the playground from the Chuckery Road entrance. The buildings on the right housed the classrooms for woodwork and metalwork.

The lone pupil, looking happy enough though!

The lone pupil, looking happy enough though!

The school building from the old entrance when it was girls only.

The school building from the old entrance when it was girls only.

All that was left of the trees used to "welcome" new boys to the school.

All that was left of the trees in February 2000 that were used to “welcome” new boys to the school.

One of the two towers that looked down on Chuckery Senior Schools for over 96 years.

One of the two towers photographed in 2000 that looked down on Chuckery Senior Schools for over 96 years.

Although I did attend one or two functions when the building housed Walsall School of Art in the 1980s the next time I saw it was in February 2000. As I mentioned earlier the light that day was very poor and the only two pictures of any clarity are shown here. The one of the trees is particularly poignant as they were used by the older boys to “stretch” the new pupils around. Four older lads would grab an unsuspecting youngster by an arm and a leg each and then pull as hard as they could. Wasn’t too bad really providing you had your cheek against the trunk and not your nose and that “other” parts of your anatomy were in their rightful place…..I don’t need to explain further I think, other than, if they weren’t it could be painful!

I wasn’t happy at having to go to the school but as it was my fault for not passing the 11 Plus exam I had to get on with it. At the end of our first year the head Mr Perry retired along with another teacher who had taught my dad at Palfrey School in the late 1920s, Mr Hubband. Our second year began with the boys and girls departments amalgamating. The headmistress from the old girls school, Miss Prentice, took the headship of the “new” school along with a fresh face to us all, deputy head Mr Davies.

The hours we used to do seemed much longer than they do today. If I remember correctly the hours were from 9.15am until 12.30pm and then 1.45pm (I think?) until 4.30pm.

I, like many others, went home every day for dinner (and pudding) which made a total daily mileage of around 7 to 8 miles. The trip was done on foot of course, it wasn’t until my final year that I had my bike which made the journey much quicker.

Of the teachers I remember Mr (Bill) Jeynes (metalwork), Mr (Joe) Donovan (woodwork), Mr Higginson (history and English), Mr Richards (art), Mr Parry (geometry and maths) Mr Bufton (science), Miss Millington, Miss Wright (music), Mrs Nicklin, Miss Evans, Mr Oldnall, Mr Hawkins, Mr Dawson, Mrs Field and a few others who names have drifted away.

In July 1962 all the pupils that left were given a bible from Walsall Education Committee and it was the custom to get your fellow pupils and teachers to sign it, mine is shown below. I didn’t mind the kisses from the girls on the signatures but there was one from David Casey plus three kisses!

The Bible signed by pupils which include:- Ron Smith, Diana Fellows, Graham Speed, Joan Middleton, Lynn Cook, John Morris, Robert Chaplin, Lynne Spiers, Clive Wiggen, John Witherford, Christine Walker, Frank Woolley, Vic Manley, Pauline Holland, David Casey, Colin Simpson, Dorothy Whitehouse, Keith Turton, Michael Kendrick, Sue Airston, Ann Morris, Graham Crook, Graham Worrall, Christine Pountney, Margaret Phiilips, Michael Butler, Trevor Webb and Mrs Mopp a nickname for one of the girls but I can't remember who.

The Bible signed by pupils which include:- Ron Smith, Diana Fellows, Graham Speed, Joan Middleton, Lynn Cook, John Morris, Robert Chaplin, Lynne Spiers, Clive Wiggen, John Witherford, Christine Walker, Frank Woolley, Vic Manley, Pauline Holland, David Casey, Colin Simpson, Dorothy Whitehouse, Keith Turton, Michael Kendrick, Sue Airston, Ann Morris, Graham Crook, Graham Worrall, Christine Pountney, Margaret Phiilips, Michael Butler, Trevor Webb and Mrs Mopp a nickname for one of the girls but I can’t remember who.

The final item, made in first year in woodwork, is a plant stick. Proudly presenting it to my dad he commented “it’ll come in handy if vampires ever move in next door”.

It might not look much but I was proud of this when I was eleven!

It might not look much but I was proud of this when I was eleven!

Chuckery Cricket 1965 copyEx-pupil Terry Bate (1962-1966) contacted me earlier this week and told me of the death of Michael Davies, the Deputy Head and that he had a photo of the cricket team of 1965. Terry kindly scanned the photo and sent it to me along with the names and it is shown above.

The team is:- Back Row. Paul Adams, Michael Saunders, Alan Humpage, Mr. Watkins, Clive Mitchell, Paul Mason, Paul Cresswell. Front Row. Terry Bate (Me), Billy Cummings, Keith Frost, Martin Hackett, John Hipkin.

Thanks for the pic’ and the information Terry, much appreciated.

 

© John Griffiths 2015

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 33 Responses to Chuckery Senior School 1904-1972

  • I remember all the names of 62 you have put down, but most of all mr higginson who married the PE teacher. I saw him again a few years later he was an office clerk in a factory round the corner from Martins in Bridgeman street where I did deliveries for. He told me they had two young children. After moving around over the years, I now live in Cannock and retired. I don’t use my email anymore.

    • Hello Christine,
      Remember your name, pity you aren’t on any of the photos although your signature is on the scan of inside of the bible the school gave us . I liked Mr Higginson, one of the better teachers I thought, didn’t know he married the PE teacher or that he packed up teaching. As I said in the post, I haven’t seen many pupils since leaving over 50 years ago, have you? I did see Sandra Rowe’s name somewhere, Friends Reunited it may have been, her married name was Lancashire if my memory is correct, lives in Heath Hayes and was in business with her hubby. There was a reunion around 1987 at The Longhorn in Walsall and although there were quite a few there but not that many I think from our year, I do remember Sue Brittle and Dave Hodson though. I’ve retired now and live just off Littleworth Road, Hednesford so not far from you. All the best and thanks for getting in touch, John G.

      • have many memories of teachers and pupils. Do you remember Susan Airston, I saw her many years ago she married an American and was on a visit back here. I did get in touch with Sandra Rowe on friends united some years ago and found out the same as you. I would be happy to meet and reminisce about our old school. If you wish, my mobile is 07854431096. No obligation, but we live in the same area.

      • Hello Christine,
        It would be good to have a chat about the old place after all these years and I would look forward to that. When would it be convenient to ring you with it being Easter and all that, shall I leave it until next week? You can call me if you want on (01543) 425398 if it’s easier as you don’t do emails anymore, I do have a mobile but rarely use it I’m afraid, never got into them really. John

  • Fred Sidhu says:

    hi john i attended chuckery school fromm 1965 to 1971
    i would love to have chat
    my no 07877654062

    • Hi Fred,
      If you fancy a chat would you mind ringing me please as I don’t have a mobile and it costs a bit to ring one from a landline.
      My number is 01543 425398
      Regards, John

  • Annette ritchie says:

    Hi John .i know it’s not possible to record all pupils past, unfortunately. Do you remember John Crutchley.? David Beckett? A few missing faces including myself. Annette Stanway and my sisters Angela and Sherleen. It’s lovely to see all the photos of the school. What a pity it has gone! Every time I come home to visit my mom and sister I intended to walk up to the old school and reminis! Thank you for all your effort in providing all this information which would surely have been lost to us all.

    • Hello Annette,
      Thanks for your kind comments about Chuckery School post.
      I do remember both John Crutchley (went to Whitehall Infants and Juniors with him) and David Beckett, don’t think I ever saw them again after leaving Chuckery, in fact I haven’t seen many in 50 years plus, where did they all go?. The name Stanway seems familiar, both Annette and Angela but I can’t recall a Sharleen, probably younger than me. It was a shame to see the old place just a pile of rubble as it was the last time I saw it and now it’s a housing estate!! Did you see the names in the bible at the end of the story, a few names there you may recall? You obviously live out of the area now but have you seen the site since it became a housing estate? I think, from the last time I went up there, the only thing left of the school is the gate pillar(s) from the boys entrance so be prepared for a shock.
      Regards, John

  • Denise Winfindale (nee Pitcher) says:

    Oh my goodness have so many memories of my school. It was the best. I loved my teachers they gave so much. I played ‘yum yum’ in the Mikado. So wonderful to see the photo. Now in later life think often if them 🙏🏻

  • Denise Winfindale (nee Pitcher) says:

    I left in 1972. Looking back I could not of wished for such wonderful teachers. Was weird seeing me so young in the netball and the mikado. Lovely people x

    • Hello Denise,
      I am pleased you were happy to see the post about Chuckery School, glad it brought back some good memories for you. Which one are you on the Mikado and netball pictures? I left the school some 10 years before it closed in July 1962 and was already working as a commercial artist, hence the reason I put the booklet together for Mr. Bolton. Certainly the school improved greatly from when I first went there in 1958, new teaching staff who were much younger than those in my first year came into the school around 1959-60 with new ideas and enthusiasm and from then on it was always on the up. Thanks again for getting in touch and all the best to you and a very happy and healthy 2017, John Griffiths.

      • Lee Tambs says:

        Hi John,

        Does anyone have any idea if there will be any plans in the new year to hold a reunion for this class? As i know my Aunt Sue (Brittle) would be keen to attend to reminisce and catch up with friends old and new!

        Kind Regards,

      • Hello Lee,
        Haven’t heard anything about a reunion for Chuckery, wish there was one. The last one was around 1987/88 when we were all around 40…..now we are pushing 70, well at least I am! If I do hear about a reunion I will get in touch and of course let Sue know too. Give Sue my regards and best wishes to both of you for 2017, John.

  • Colin Cheesman says:

    Hi John, I was at the school from ’66 to ’71 and recognise many in the photos. Unfortunately I am now only in touch with one ex pupil but would like to be in touch with more but there is nothing on Facebook for example. My memory for names is poor but faces are easier to recognise. Thanks for a fascinating article. Kind regards. Colin

    • Hello Colin, thanks for your kind comments about the article, glad you liked it. Since I left Chuckery in 1962 I have only seen a handful of ex-pupils, (apart from the reunion around 1987/88) and, as you say, there is little on social media. I have had maybe six or seven contact me as you have about the site and that is it. Where did they all go?
      Thanks again Colin for getting in touch, John.

  • Colin Simpson says:

    Hello John, I attended seniors from 1962 to 1966.l recognise some of the names signed in the back of the Bible and l’m sure that is my signature. My form teachers were Mr Oldnall and later on Mrs Field. Clive Mitchell was a classmate along with Billy Phillips, Kieth Frost, Mary Airs, Caroline Scarrot, Christine Scott, Robert Saddler who’s father owned a fish &chip shop not far away, Susan Cartwright, Lauren Jackson. Other names I can remember are David Grey, Martin Hacket, Linda Gidney, Ada Adams, Colin Withers, Tony Crutchley, Lorna Dixon,Brian Goode, Stephen Hill, Maureen Richards,.Mrs Evans was our English teacher and Mr Buffton the science teacher used to slap both of his hands over your ears if you were not paying attention. Your ears were ringing for hours afterwards. Mr Parry was pretty fearsome with a piece of chalk as well. I loved my time at Chuckery and consider myself to have had an excellent education. It’s upsetting to know the buildings do not exist anymore. Thanks for getting all your info together on this siite,it bought back many memories. Colin Simpson now aged 65.

    • Hello Colin, great to hear from you and thanks for contacting me, pleased you enjoyed memories of our old school.

      I must admit seeing your name was a bit of a shock as I haven’t had many from my years (1958-1962) contact me. Then seeing your age and the years you were there I realised there must have been two Colin Simpsons. The Colin Simpson in our year lived more or less opposite the Boys entrance on Tong Street, he never left his house until 30 seconds before the bell went and was always on time! It is him that signed the bible and like me, he will be 70 this year so we are just 5 years older.

      I remember only to well Mr Bufton and his wacking your ears and if the world darts championship had been about in the early 60s Mr Parry would have been a contender, deadly accurate with a piece of chalk, just like you say. He even managed to hit the target when his back was turned.

      My first year at Chuckery was bit hairy, the discipline wasn’t very good as two or three old teachers, including the headmaster Mr Perry were due for retirement and basically couldn’t be bothered. They still got their kicks though belting some of the unruly 4th year pupils about a bit……and most of ’em deserved it. When the new joint head, Mr Davies (along with Miss Prentice), came in our second year he brought a couple of much younger staff with him and they set about instilling discipline but without knocking seven bells out of everybody in sight. I think Mr Davies did a wonderful job and our final three years were great, he really turned the school around. I last saw him at the reunion around 1987 or ’88 time, that was the last (as far as I know) reunion Chuckery Seniors had. I agree that we had a really good education even if it was a Secondary Modern, comparing it some of the schooling today I would say is chalk and cheese plus the fact our hours were much longer too. Do you ever remember our teachers having days off for “training” or when was the last Chuckery closed because it snowed!

      Thanks again Colin, all the best, John.

      • Colin Simpson says:

        Hi John, I didn’t think the years added up but that signature was so much like mine at that time. I lived off the Sutton Road on the new Park Hall Estate and walked or biked it. Mr Davis and Dawson used to take some of us.canoe camping weekends and also on trips to Wales to climb Snowden and go sea canoeing.Do they do that sort of thing anymore,I don’t think so..Thanks for your reply There’s nothing like a bit of nostalgia. All the best to you, Colin

    • Cedric Dalton says:

      Evening Colin & John,
      Think I were year below your as I went to Chuckery in 1963 , I recall the teachers you comment on Mr Davies & canoes etc I agree a very good team
      I felt to that we received a good education from a trulely profession team of staff from Miss Prentice down.
      I recall some of them name you recal to , Clive Mitchell I saw many years ago running a bar in Tenerife although I think he later lived around Cannock & worked for BT
      Martin Hackett is still around his family own Leamore Windows I believe mind not seen him in years. Robert Sadler ? I recall a lad lived at a chip shop but known as Seth so not sure if same person.
      Remember the cake shop ? Was in Mac Chattins ? Selbourne St I think
      Sure I have my bible around somewhere will next time in loft
      Bye for now Ced

  • Hi john do you remember my brother who went to chuckery seniors 1958——1962 Brynmor Rees also i am in the 1962 netball photo Jeannette Rees. I left chuckery school in 1964

    • Hi Jeanette, thanks for getting in touch. I should know your brother, I recall the name but can’t put a face to it, he was at Chuckery the same time as me. Regards, John

  • Terry Bate says:

    Hi John, I was at Chuckery from 1962 to 1966, and remember all of the names that Colin Simpson mentioned as he was in my form. Sadly Mr. Davis the head passed away a little while ago. Happy memories.

    • Hello Terry,
      Thanks for getting in touch, I always enjoy when someone does…proves it’s being read!! I didn’t know about Mr Davis passing away so thanks for that info’ too. I always thought he was the catalyst that got the school moving in the right direction, when I started it was a bit intimidating as a first year back in 1958.Thanks again, all the best, John G.

  • Terry Bate says:

    Thanks John,
    Mr Davies passed away on 10th October 2015 in Wolverhampton. Prior to his teaching career he was a Russian Interpreter in The Royal Navy. On a much happier note we were told that we were to have a new R.E.Teacher a Miss. Mackie, later to become Mrs.Davies.
    On my first day I was summoned by Miss.Prentice, all she said was “If you are half as good as your Mother you will do well” She had taught my mother as well!
    The photograph on the front cover of the History shows us practising in the canoes before our trip to Wales for our Duke of Edinburgh’s Bronze Award, I am in the back of the twin seater.
    And just a few more names to add to Colin Simpson’s (Simmo’s) list.
    Michael Neale, Peter Bailey, John Lawton, Stephen Wilmore, Maria Antoinette, Amrat Patel and Amajit Singh (Ammo).

    If you go onto the Walsall Advertiser.co.uk web site/tributes-paid-walsall-teacher/story their is a story about Mr.Davies and a photo took in Tong St.
    Kind Regards.

    Terry Bate.

    • Cedric Dalton says:

      Evening All
      Thanks for info on Mr Davies just read piece in Advertiser he were great Teacher & leader at Chuckery.
      Can’t recall you or the names you record I were year year behind you 63 to 67
      Only name you may have knew I can remember is Clive Mitchell do you recall him probably same year as you
      Regards Ced

  • Terry Bate says:

    Hi John,
    Just found a photo of the Cricket Team, I think its 1965. Will scan it over to you. is your email john.griffiths21@virgin.net

    Regards.

    Terry.

  • Hello Terry,
    Thanks for that information about Mr Davies, I’ll have a look. I had heard he had been in the navy but didn’t know he had been a Russian interpreter, must have been busy back then, it was the height of the Cold War wasn’t it!
    So that’s you in the back of the canoe, good to have names for faces, wish I had more. Looking at the dates when you were there it would appear as you started at Chuckery in the September I had left the previous July. The scan of the cricket team would good too, could I add it to the site? My email address is now jwg47@supanet.com the one you have has long gone. Regards, John

  • Terry Bate says:

    Will scan it over to you this morning.

    Regards.

    Terry

  • David Morgan says:

    Hi John..Mrs Stone was my form teacher and I remember very well the class being told she passed away.. I recall everyone being very upset this was due to the fact it was very sudden and expected.

    • Cedric Dalton says:

      David. Were Mrs Stone a Games / PE teacher ?
      What years were you at Chuckery ?
      Regards Ced

      • David Morgan says:

        Ced. Mrs Stone was my form teacher .. class 2b.. when she passed away. I left chuckery in 1972 and went to Blue Coat … this was nothing like Chuckery very cold and of course lots more pupils.

        Dave

  • David Morgan says:

    Hi John..Mrs Stone was my form teacher and I remember very well the class being told she passed away.. I recall everyone being very upset this was due to the fact it was very sudden and unexpected.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chuckery Senior School 1904-1972 at Walsall Life.

meta

